Domestic Violence Education in Pop Culture: NO MORE DRAMA

NO MORE DRAMA, by Mary J. Blige (From the album, Family Affair, 2001)

I did not know much of Mary J. Blige prior to her “Family Affair” album, but when I heard the song “No More Drama” and saw its accompanying music video, I found myself in tears. This powerful video profiles gang violence, drug addiction, and yes, domestic violence in a way that reaches even the staunchest viewer. What can we do about these issues? How can we better educate? Seeing the truth about these issues in this video (including domestic violence) gives us a clear-cut impression of the pain they cause and the necessary changes to bring about much-needed change.

“Why’d I play the fool
Go through ups and downs
Knowing all the time
You wouldn’t be around
Or maybe I liked the stress
Cause I was young and restless
But that was long ago
I don’t wanna cry no more”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=em328ua_Lo8

Leave a Reply

