Domestic Violence Education in Pop Culture: DAMAGED

DAMAGED, by TLC (From the album 3D, 2002)

Most of us now remember TLC for their varied hits, but there is a little-known song by TLC that was most important: Damaged, which only hit #53 on the contemporary charts in 2003. In this vivid music video, we see a woman’s world literally falling to pieces due to the cheating of her boyfriend and his subsequent physical beatings upon her. Video shows the vivid consequences of domestic violence go beyond the physical, into the emotional and spiritual realm as well.

“My heart’s at a low
I’m so much to manage
I think you should know that
I’ve been damaged
I’m falling in love
There’s one disadvantage
I think you should know that I’ve been damaged”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reG7Iu8seos

Leave a Reply

