Domestic Violence Education in Pop Culture: THE COLOR PURPLE

THE COLOR PURPLE, produced by Quincy Jones, Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall, and Steven Spielberg (1985)

Starring: Whoopi Goldberg, Danny Glover, Adolph Caesar, Margaret Very, Oprah Winfrey, and Rae Dawn Chong.

Based on Alice Walker’s 1982 novel, The Color Purple was a movie phenomenon depicting the lives and problems of African-American women during the early twentieth century. The film vividly portrays problems of domestic violence, rape, incest, poverty, racism, sexism, and even pedophilia. Through the support of two women, Celie, the main character, begins to find her own voice and discover her own strength, and she is not the only one. The movie depicts the transitions that many characters in the story have made, moving toward healing and better ways of living that overcome their painful and difficult pasts. It also accurately displays the struggle and how difficult cycles of abuse are to overcome, especially if abuse and mistreatment is a part of the culture at large.

Note: The movie is rated PG-13 due to strong content, language, and sexual situations.

Sofia: All my life I had to fight. I had to fight my daddy. I had to fight my uncles. I had to fight my brothers. A girl child ain’t safe in a family of men, but I ain’t never thought I’d have to fight in my own house! I love Harpo, God knows I do. But I’ll kill him dead before I let him beat me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tzl8VPhLun0

3 thoughts on “Domestic Violence Education in Pop Culture: THE COLOR PURPLE

  1. Pingback: Domestic Violence Education in Pop Culture: THE COLOR PURPLE – femidadaadedina

Leave a Reply

