What I Learned Over Women Of Power’s Powerfest Northeast

(Women of Power’s PowerFest Northeast – What I learned (thank you @Pastor CeCe Jo Higginbotham) and (How God spoke to me thru PowerFest Northeast – thank you @Prophetess Suzi Moore!)

I really don’t like my title for this note, which is why I posted the alternate title suggestions as well. It sounds like a school assignment. “What I Did Over My Summer Vacation.” “What I Learned From The Assembly Yesterday.” “What I Noticed In Science Class.” We all used to roll our eyes when we were in school and these assingments came up, because we knew what would follow them: a presentation, where we had to read it in front of everybody. The thing is, I can’t think of a catchier title: this really is a summary of what I learned as a result of PowerFest. It’s not even just what I learned at the conference itself, but before, during, after, and even still, as much as tonight.

When the Lord prompted me to share what I’ve been learning, I did not hesitate. We apostles need to learn things, too. God is still revealing and teaching us, and sometimes we need to be honest about what God is working within us to help set someone else free. I know an awful lot of ministers get up in the pulpit and act like they got it all together, whether or not they do. Sometimes all we need to do is be transparent…and show what God is showing us.

God is in the delays

I thought we were never going to get to New Jersey. Actually, I first did not think Apostle Yolanda Davis-Greggs and Minister Tina L. Kirkwood were going to EVER make it to RDU so I could pick them up. They dealt with airport hassles and delays all day. By the time they arrived, it was after midnight on Wednesday – the day we were set to drive up to the conference. We were supposed to be leaving at around 6 AM the following day – but because they got in so late, we had to leave a few hours later. It seemed like days of delay! However, had they arrived on time, we would not have had the opportunity to pray for the night clerk at the hotel, who had just received word that she had a cancer cell act up in her body after a few years of inactivity. Had we left when I’d wanted to leave for New Jersey, we would have been caught in a horrible, multiple-car pile-up accident in Maryland. On the way home, had we left earlier than we did, we would have never been able to meet Apostle Towanda Clark and spend the fellowship time we did with her. Thanks to that fellowship time, we missed a massive, 45-minute delay on the roadways. From departure to return, God was with us, every step of the way, in every delay. Every delay kept us from harm, gave us more time for fellowship (such as karaoke in the car), and more time to see His hand at work in our lives.

It’s so easy to get caught up in haste and time. Everyone who knows me knows the fuss I make over punctuality. However…sometimes, God is in our delays. Are we making ourselves too busy to see the hand of God when everything sets us up to arrive or leave at a time other than the one we plan? Are we allowing God to be in our plans, or are we rushing ahead of Him?

“If you rush ahead, you will miss your goal.” (Proverbs 19:12, GNT)

Hassles will come as people pray against you

The warfare for the conference this year started far earlier than last year. I dealt with internal warfare with last year’s event, but for some reason, it didn’t seem to start so early. Conference warfare started five weeks in advance, when one of the speakers decided to back out of the event for (literally) no good reason at all. If that wasn’t bad enough, this was also a woman I covered, who decided to declare herself “Satanically influenced by her leaders” and uncover herself just before the conference was scheduled to start. The week before the conference, I struggled with distractions and crisis that could not be avoided – but it annoyed me. The Monday before we were scheduled to leave, I fell in the bathroom, slipping on the floor. There was no water, no towel, and I did not lose my balance – the enemy made me slip. It was serious enough to bruise me severely on my thigh (the bruise wound up being about 2.5 inches long) and throw out my back, hip, and knee. One day later, Apostle Yolanda and Minister Tina dealt with problems at the airport. We hit traffic the whole way up. In the car on the way up, the woman who had uncovered herself started burning up my cell phone with nasty messages and causing disruption all over Facebook. The warfare was great because the conference was amazing, and because we had people delivered, connected, healed, and encouraged. Satan brought forth his best weapons to deter us. He tried to bring down the conference to one who was close to my leadership, through another person close to me, through my neighbors, and through some who even were in attendance. People were praying against me, against the conference, and attempting to work warfare. It was NOT going to happen. We were HAVING this conference – we were going to be IN THE PRESENCE OF GOD and that was the beginning and the end of it. Witches, witchcraft, haters, and dissenters only have power if we stop doing God’s amazing work. If we keep going, you know what…they lose every time! Hallelujah!

“For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. And we will be ready to punish every act of disobedience, once your obedience is complete.” (2 Corinthians 10:4-6, NIV)

The people you’ve supported will have their back, because they are in the Spirit

Our conference host this year, Apostle Dr. Darlene Harvey, did an awesome and powerful job encouraging me through many of the difficulties I had leading up to the warfare with this conference. She was also a powerful encourager and motivator in many of the registrations we had. We also had awesome worship, fellowship, and encouragement thanks to her wonderful staff at Greater Works Deliverance Ministries – especially from Evangelist-Elect Crystal Baum and hospitality thanks to Minister Ada Stevens. I am greatly indebted to Prophetess Suzi Moore who kept a watch on many matters here on FB while I was gone, and kept me updated as needed. With the woman mentioned above running hither and yonder, trying to cause dissention and negativity, I was a bit concerned over what might be said, and to whom. When people get angry – not to mention filled with the enemy – you never know what they will say. Even when they speak lies (which is exactly what this woman did), people don’t always know the truth – and sometimes will assume whatever they have heard. The Lord kept assuring me to relax and remain in the Spirit. I decided I would not do anything until going home, and I made a point not to go online or entertain anything I received via phone in the meantime. In the meantime, this woman got herself kicked out of a group, alienated herself from several other people who were covered by the ministry, and even a couple who were not. Everyone came and told me what she did, said, and even forwarded me the messages she sent and the ones they sent to her. NOBODY was fooled because they knew the Spirit of God at work in the ministry, and in me – not to mention, they had the Spirit themselves! They wanted to stand up in the midst of this lying demon and make a stand for what is true. They had my back, because I had theirs, and because we are all more than just coverings and coverees – we are also friends and sisters in the Lord – they knew their leader, friend, and sister in the Spirit. It was awesome to see so many come together – even Prophetess Suzi Moore and Pastor CeCe Higginbotham, who were unable to be with us at Women of Power in person this year. God does amazing things, even when people see fit to uncover themselves!

“Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.” (Romans 12:10, NIV)

Our struggles are nothing compared to God’s glory

Enough said on that one! 😀

“If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you.” (1 Peter 4:14, NIV)

The work of God is too important to focus on negativity

Sometimes, it seems like all we deal with in ministry are complaints, in one form or another. Even prayer requests can sometimes become disguised complaints, as people bemoan what is wrong with their lives and want you to pray it all away with fairy dust. If we focus too much on the negativity of people, we will never realize the importance in God’s work. Sometimes it’s just time to let some people go…if you know what I mean. Sometimes in our efforts to help others, we start hurting ourselves. If we are being brought down by others, then we won’t walk in the work we need to and believe in it the way we should. It is possible to be so bogged down with negativity, we only start half-believing in the work God has given us to do. If someone is dragging you down, GET RID OF THEM.

Sooo much good came out of the conference. We had wonderful service through the Howard Johnson’s hotel of Toms River, New Jersey. The wonderful staff went above and beyond to assist and make sure we were comfortable and pleased with our service. We had an awesome time meeting, sharing, and fellowshipping with the members of Greater Works Deliverance Ministries, and were so blessed by the ministering of Apostle Dr. Darlene Harvey and Pastor-Elect Ebony Baker-Rivera. We were blessed coming in and going out, from the time we started until we ended with our shared discussion, blessing and connecting, one to another in God’s divine sisterhood. There is more positive than negative, even when we don’t think to look. The memories of this conference shall be such that I will wrap myself in and recall whenever negativity seeks to rise up and distract from purpose.

“Do not be terrified by them, for the LORD your God, who is among you, is a great and awesome God.” (Deuteronomy 7:21, NIV)

Wherever you are at…God is with you. Whatever you are going through…God is with you. It may seem like the end of the world, but this too, shall pass. Some things we need to let go of and stop fussing over so, because that gives rise to the enemy. Step back and see what God is doing in your life. Maybe it’s not the first time He’s done it, and maybe it won’t be the last. God is bringing you to new people for new connections, strengthening the older connections, and bringing and birthing forth power in His Name through your life and whatever it is He has called you to do.

Now, I cannot wait for our next Women of Power event. It is my prayer that, wherever you are, you are able to be with us. Whether you come by car, plane, train, bus, or are just within our vicinity, this is one event you do not want to miss. In Jesus’ Name, I will see you there.

(And yes, this week I will finally call everyone back who has called me since I got home. LOL!)

(c) 2012 Lee Ann B. Marino. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

