The Fullness Of Time

“Even so we, when we were children, were in bondage under the elements of the world: But when the fulness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law, To redeem them that were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons. And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father. Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.” – Galatians 4:3-7 (KJV)

Those who follow me online probably know that I have been working on a book of mine. I know, that’s not really news, since it always seems I am working on a book – LOL. The truth is that this book is very special, and very important. I started my book on ministry in November of 2008 as a Bible study about the five-fold. It never occurred to me to turn it into a book – I just printed up copies of the study. It became my ministry’s best-selling study within less than six months. Over time, it went through numerous revisions, additions, and expansions. I decided I needed to put it in book form by late 2009, and I started formatting it for publication by January, 2010. When I submitted it to a publisher the first time, the publisher rejected it in favor of a different type of manuscript. At first, I was very upset, because I felt the book’s success as a study within the ministry spoke for itself. On second glance, I took it before God, and realized part of its reject was because it wasn’t finished yet. Thus, I brought it back to the drawing board, and added a few sections. Then, I left it, and let the Spirit reveal about it. “Not done yet.” So, I added some more to it. “Not done yet.” More, God? “Not done yet.” From 2009 to the present, my book on ministry has gone through approximately seven revisions, most of which were some very major additions to the book.

I hate to admit this, but I know my transparency will help another – the process has been, at times, very discouraging to me. In all the years I have been writing, I have never written a book in this manner. I’ve never had to write something and leave it, and then work on it again and leave it, and then come back to it, yet again, and leave it some more. I knew there was one major revision required in my book, and I was terribly intimidated by having to take it on. There were also a few additional things that needed to be done, which were not major, but would fully round out the book. God would have me pick up the book, work some here and there, but leave the major and final things. I never understood why, because usually I try to tackle what is most major and then handle smaller things.

Two weeks ago today, God placed on my spirit that it was time to finish this book. I was a little intimidated at the thought. I hadn’t worked much on it in the past few months, save revising sections and waiting on God’s leading. There was that one major revision still left to complete. There were still a few odds and ends, here and there, that needed tweaking, adding, or subtracting. The book itself is already over 300 pages, and it is still growing. Yet…for some reason, working on it this time is different. The revisions are going quickly, and the major revision, which I am working on today, in fact, is going by smoothly, without a lot of difficulty. I realized while working on it that I couldn’t believe how intimidated I was by the thought of taking this on again! At the rate I am going, the book will be finished in but a few weeks, at most (of course, unless God wants more revisions!).

The reason I am able to handle all that is needed with my book is because the fullness of its time has come. The Word teaches us in Galatians 4:3-7 that Jesus came when the “fullness of the time was come.” This means that God does things when everything is perfect for them to be done. Even Jesus had to come at the exact opportune time: He couldn’t have come into the world early, nor too late. Everything had to be set up, purposed, and prepared for Jesus to come, right at the right time. The same is true for everything we undertake. Often we are pressing and pushing in to do things that it is just not the right time to do, simply because we want to see them come to pass. In a church that has picked up the world’s haste-factor – believing everything should be done quickly, grandly, and loudly – we don’t think about the power of timing. Timing is about more than just us being ready; it also considers the situation within the world and the various spiritual and external factors that need to be ready and receptive to receive whatever is coming forth. Just like the world needed to be ready for the coming of Christ, so too the world needs to be ready (and only God can define what “ready” in each context means) for whatever it is God has given you to do. We love to talk about being the sons and daughters of God, but we forget that part of being His sons and daughters also means we are attune and ready for His rhema word in our lives, and waiting in obedience for the fullness of time to come for us.

The world wasn’t ready for my book in 2010, or in 2011, or for most of 2012. Now, the fullness of its time has come. That tells me when it is published, it will be ready to be received and help people receive a right and dutiful understanding of ministry. It is my very heart that as we have right leadership, we can turn more to the Lord who too can cry, “Abba, Father!”

(c) 2012 Lee Ann B. Marino. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

