The Spirit Of Presumption: “Don’t Prove Me Wrong!”

“You may say to yourselves, “How can we know when a message has not been spoken by the LORD?” If what a prophet proclaims in the name of the LORD does not take place or come true, that is a message the LORD has not spoken. That prophet has spoken presumptuously. Do not be afraid of him.” (Deuteronomy 18:21-22, NIV)

The past few days have been an interesting, albeit revelatory, few days. I discovered yesterday morning that one of the women mentioned in my last note, “Birds of a Feather Smell The Same” saw fit to “out” herself. Using some clever editing, she posted her false prophecy, the manner of my reception of her false message (which, I do recall saying I received her message in the note) and the portions of the note I wrote that she felt she could “defend” on her FB page. She also tagged me in it, mentioning me by name, and attempting to use me as an example of what happens when we don’t “work” for a prophecy and instead, just sit on “Facebook, playing games.”

No, I don’t feel a bit convicted. I am not writing this to slug anyone – I am not mentioning names, the woman who did this has been reported to FB and isn’t even going to be able to see this note. This is not to get back at anybody, this is for one simple reason: This is not the only time this has ever happened to someone. It won’t be the last time this happens to someone. One of the reasons you all are so blessed when I write and “make it plain” is because you’ve all been there, too. There are those of us out there who aren’t going to tell you to just “get over” the issues you have, the hurts others have inflicted upon you, or who think we should all just ignore the problems in the church because we don’t want to deal with them. If I don’t call this out, if we don’t teach on it, it won’t ever go away. The Apostles are NOT called to promote a cloud-nine existence. So, I’m going to just be real with you all (rather than ‘real boring’). I am tired of all this nonsense in the church. People speak false words and then don’t take responsibility for them: they blame the recipient. The person who received the Word didn’t work hard enough, try enough, and was just the one in error – so the prophecy not happening is their fault. It doesn’t seem to matter the nature of the message, or the contents therein (obviously, as was in my own example, if I am being called to minister in Texas and meeting a couple to reveal the next phase of the ministry, that’s not something I can concoct on my own). The fact of the matter is that what I heard in her words is the same thing I heard in her both false and ridiculous words to me several years ago: I hear the spirit of presumption. When people walk in presumption, they are so self-assured of themselves (in the flesh) that they do not ever accept the fact that maybe something they did, said, or believe could possibly be wrong. It is obvious to me that she missed the point of the note, not to mention the fact that she just proved she is exactly who I assessed her to be. As we can all recall, I did not mention names – I related my experience with people. I don’t mention names because it isn’t relevant who the people are – what IS relevant is that I went through something, God revealed something to me in it, and I made the choice to heed God. Like many of us, I didn’t listen to God when I first got the message, or when things first went awry with the other individual I had an experience with, for one simple reason: because I doubted myself. I allowed the way these women carried themselves, their attitudes, and their exuded self-confidence to make me question myself.

There is an evil spirit at work in people who run around with titles they haven’t earned: they operate by a spirit of presumption. Presumption operates differently from prophecy because it bears with it the attitude, “Don’t prove me wrong,” while prophecy proves correct. In the instance of presumption, the assumption is that you need to make that word work for you – you need to make it come true. If you don’t, you are in error, rather than the person. Thus the spirit of presumption manifests through a word of presumption, in that it puts all the responsibility for the contents of bringing the word to pass on the recipient. I am the first person who recognizes that we need to work with God’s Word in obedience – but we also can’t bully a word into coming true. In parts of every word there is the part that proves whether the contents therein are of God or not: the part that the individual can’t work, or can’t bring to pass on their own.

I’ll give you an example: let’s say that I give somebody who is unemployed a word: The Lord says that you need to go to the unemployment office. When you get there, the job you are looking for will be waiting for you. There are two parts to this message. The first is the individual’s obedience. Obviously there is no question that if the Lord has told you to go to the unemployment office, you need to find a way to get there and get up and go. You won’t get the promise of the word if you just stay at home because that’s not what God told you to do – just like when Naaman was told to go and dunk in the river seven times out of obedience. But the second part of the word is divine because only God can bring forth that kind of revelatory knowledge. If I tell you to go to the unemployment office and there is no job there – you take the time and talk to the unemployment woman or man and go through all the books and apply for the jobs and then wait and don’t hear, or even you just don’t find something that will work – and let’s say you even go back a few times and there is still no job there – then the word that was brought forth was not of God. It wasted your resources, your time and money, and was a discouragement to you. It makes you step back and question where you are in God. The fact that things didn’t happen are already causing a whirlwind of thoughts to stretch through your mind.

Now, let’s step this up a bit. Let’s say that you came back to me about it and told me what happened…and I said the following to you: “Well, you didn’t go at the right time! How come you didn’t run off the internet and go there that second? Why didn’t you just camp out there overnight? Did you look in this book? You just didn’t look hard enough. Don’t come and tell me this word was false, you just didn’t try hard enough to find one! You didn’t participate with the word. You didn’t have enough faith! You doubted what I said. You need to give prophecy time, Isaiah prophesied the Messiah 800 years before it came to pass!”

The response I just gave is an example of the spirit of presumption. It gives the hearer all the responsibility to bring the word to pass, instead of giving themselves the responsibility to ensure that every word they deliver in the Name of the Lord is actually from the Lord. This kind of spirit is demonic of the worst kind because it causes the hearer to doubt what they know is God in their lives. It also can cause the receiver to miss God’s genuine word because they are so emphatic about trying to prove a leader right or bringing that word to pass in their own lives.

The spirit of presumption operates in both private and corporate words to the body, they operate in gossip when we start talking about other people and deciding what they should or should not be doing in their situation, it works when we try to tell others how they are feeling or invade their private mental and emotional space by telling someone else how they are feeling. The spirit of presumption is alive and well in those people who never have a nice word to say about you, never read anything you write or listen to any of your teachings, but are the first there to twist and condemn something you say to use against you. In this modern church that twists psychology and turns faith into a gigantic mind game, it’s easy to twist and manipulate people’s thoughts and feelings to accept a false faith reality. That’s what people are doing in the spirit of presumption: they are gathering people to them via control and manipulation. In other words, they are people who are operating by witchcraft, as the spirit of presumption is a form of witchcraft.

The Word warns us against those who appear to be good, but are not – by those who seem to be like everyone else, who give their clever words, and who even appear to be our friends, with our best interests at heart:

“I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. Be on your guard against men…” (Matthew 10:17-18, NIV)

“But before all this, they will lay hands on you and persecute you. They will deliver you to synagogues and prisons, and you will be brought before kings and governors, and all on account of my name. This will result in your being witnesses to them. But make up your mind not to worry beforehand how you will defend yourselves. For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict. You will be betrayed even by parents, brothers, relatives and friends, and they will put some of you to death. All men will hate you because of me. But not a hair of your head will perish. By standing firm you will gain life.” (Luke 21:12-19, NIV)

Let’s look carefully at the Word, here. The Bible tells us that we are sent out as sheep (innocent, naive) among wolves (cunning, deceitful, destructive). We are called to be as shrewd as snakes – wise as the serpent, knowing, aware, watching, and waiting, but innocent as doves – not tainted by deceit. We are called to be on our guard against men. This word, “men,” includes all of humanity, not just men, but women also. It doesn’t say beware evil people, but just people. The reason for this is simple – people are easily manipulated by spirits if they are not where they need to be. It’s easy to be moved by the demonic with unresolved issues, emotional wants, and lusts of various sorts, such as the lust of power. We can see that the Bible tells us even those of us who seem closest will be agents to hand us over to the enemy, try to get us in trouble, or cause us issues.

What God tells us to do, in essence, is stand firm in our faith. If we are truly operating by faith, we don’t need to formulate a long-winded defense. I could come on here or could have gone on that woman’s page and presented a long-winded defense about how I am not procrastinating or sitting on Facebook all day, playing games. I could have explained about the five books I wrote last year and the ten I’ve written since that word was given, or the ten or so I wrote before the word, or the fifteen or so people I cover, or about how I was among the first women on the internet who were apostles – along with my apostle, my former apostle, and a few others – who are the pioneers of the modern work and the reason any woman is calling themselves an “apostle” online today….but I am not going to do that. There is no reason to. Those who know me and know the work know the truth, know the impact, and know this ministry is not accomplished sitting on FB all day. Anyone who could make that statement doesn’t operate by faith, they operate by presumption. I realized yesterday that the entire reason why I allowed this woman to ever deliver that word to me in the first place was because somewhere inside, I let her intimidate me. She came with her spirit of presumption and seemed larger than life. She seemed more “successful” than I was. The truth be told, she wasn’t, and isn’t. I received a word from her that degraded me and made me question what I was doing for the Lord. Given I didn’t know her, we had no relationship, and now she is quick to point that out – that means she operated in presumption. It was presumptuous because to say I was procrastinating and wasn’t stepping out wasn’t true. Maybe I wasn’t doing what she thought I should be doing, maybe she thought she saw something she didn’t, or maybe she was just operating in a sabotaging spirit. Whatever it was, God called me to stand firm and stand on His promise. The answer isn’t to defend, the answer is to speak by the Spirit – and to stop worrying about the words people speak to us presumptuously.

Proverbs 18:21 says: “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.” (NIV) We can speak life, or we can speak death. We can encourage, we can correct, we can guide, or we can kill someone’s faith, perspectives, life in God, or lead them to destruction. The spirit of presumption leads to death, because it speaks death. The death that woman spoke over me has no hold because life is at work in me. We need to be more selective about what we accept and receive from people – no matter what they call themselves – because life is at work in us. It is not God’s will that we are confused or dismayed, nor that we live defensive or angry…but that we walk in the abundant life of the Lord, free of presumption, receiving true prophecy, and quickening in our spirits unto God’s true words of life. Romans 8:6: “The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace.” (NIV) Watch for the fruit of life and death…and eat with caution!

(c) 2012 Lee Ann B. Marino. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

