A Woman In God’s Work Is Never Done

So often we’ve heard the words, “A woman’s work is never done” to describe the business of a woman’s life. I can testify I feel many days as if my work is never done. Sometimes the distribution of things seems so uneven, and life feels so stressful, I wonder what it would be like to just sit back and have nothing to do.

What I realize these days – now more than I ever have before – is that our work as women of God is never done. It will never be done until the time when Jesus returns. There are so many lives for us to touch, impact, help, and work to heal. There are so many ways for us to impact and effect those lives…and it makes me stand back and think to myself, I can’t do this all by myself!

I’m correct in that thought: I can’t do it all by myself. I don’t have the resources or the physical capability. But I can do it with everyone else. As we work together to make a difference, we stop dividing ourselves into this cause and that cause. God has called us to stand with the hurting, support the strong, proclaim the Word, and bring about change wherever we go. Our job doesn’t begin and end in the pulpit. While that’s a part of it, we can all do something to make someone else’s life better in a tangible way. We can reach out and listen. We can offer what we do have and use our gifts and calling for God’s purpose. Most importantly, we can support one another. As we are all one body, everything every one of us is doing affects us all. Even though God may not tell us to do the same exact thing as another, we can always reach out and love our fellow workers in the harvest. This is especially important as women of the Gospel. So many are against us; so we all need to be for one another.

Yes, it’s true…a woman in God’s work is never done.

(c) 2011 Lee Ann B. Marino. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

