He Knows My Name

This afternoon I went to my apartment office to receive a package (a Bible I ordered about five months ago that was finally delivered) that was too large to fit in our apartment mailboxes. When I got there, the apartment manager called me LouAnn…

Ugh. This was the fifth time that she called me by the wrong name. It’s also not the first time I’ve encountered people who get my name wrong. For the entirety of my life, my name (which is spelled exactly as it sounds) has been a challenge to many. For a long time, it used to bother me. In the past I said something about it, but suddenly I didn’t care. God placed something within me:

THANK YOU, FATHER, THAT YOU KNOW WHO I AM!!!

I am so thankful that He knows my name. I don’t care if anyone else ever gets it right or not. The Creator, Savior, Sustainer of the universe knows MY NAME! In the scope of bigger ministries, larger works, and more famous people, I might as well not exist. Yet I truly recognize that because of Christ, I am not nobody, but am truly somebody in Him. Through Him, I know who I am, too!

And that lets me know that no matter who I matter to or do not matter to…I matter to Him and therefore, I do matter. It’s not about what other people know, it’s about what He knows, and I know because I am in Him.

And you know what? He knows you, calls you, and loves you! You matter to Him too 🙂 In the hustle of today’s world, which is largely impersonal, largely ignorant, and tends to make mistakes when it comes to our personage, remember…Your Creator knows who you are.

“1 O LORD, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!
You have set your glory
above the heavens.

2 From the lips of children and infants
you have ordained praise
because of your enemies,
to silence the foe and the avenger.

3 When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,

4 what is man that you are mindful of him,
the son of man that you care for him?

5 You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings
and crowned him with glory and honor.

6 You made him ruler over the works of your hands;
you put everything under his feet:

7 all flocks and herds,
and the beasts of the field,

8 the birds of the air,
and the fish of the sea,
all that swim the paths of the seas.

9 O LORD, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!”

– Psalm 8 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

